SSaiyed Award

Transportation Planning Professional of the Year Award

York University adjunct professor, Dr. Sabbir Saiyed, has been awarded the Transportation Planning Professional of the Year at the Ontario Traffic Council’s (OTC) 2019 annual conference. The award takes into account Dr. Saiyed’s significant contribution to the transportation planning profession and the initiatives undertaken with OTC and other professional organizations. Dr. Saiyed was instrumental in forming the OTC’s Transportation Planning Committee in 2002 and has presented numerous educational sessions and workshops.

In addition to his position at York University, Dr. Saiyed is the Manager of Transportation System Planning at the Region of Peel and is an adjunct professor at the University of Toronto. He is also the Chair of the Urban Transportation Council and Past Chair of the Transportation Planning and Research Standing Committee at the Transportation Association of Canada (TAC). Dr. Saiyed holds a Master’s degree from Carleton University and a PhD from the Royal Military College of Canada in the field of Civil Engineering, specializing in Transportation Planning and Engineering.

As the Manager of Peel Region’s Transportation System Planning group, Dr. Saiyed was instrumental in forming the Smart Freight Centre (SFC), a centre of excellence for goods movement solutions. The SFC is a partnership between the Region of Peel, McMaster University, the University of Toronto, and York University. Dr. Saiyed leads a team that is involved in various additional initiatives, such as developing Peel Region’s Transportation Innovation Strategy, Data Management Strategy, providing the technical inputs for their Long Range Transportation Plan, and conducting various transportation planning and modelling studies.

As a part of his engagement of the next generation of transportation, Dr. Saiyed has also been involved in the ITE York University Student Chapter as both an advisor and a presenter.

Congratulations Dr. Saiyed on being awarded the OTC’s 2019 Transportation Planning Professional of the Year!